PDA

View Full Version : Lousy pics but the turnings are alright

Paul Zerjay
04-03-2007, 2:14 PM
After introducing myself, I thought I'd post a couple pics. Sorry about the quality, I'm no good at the pic thing, as far as turning, I'm still learning there too.The first pic is a sphere. Curly Maple spalted 8-1/2" dia and 3/16's wall thickness. Lacquer and beal buff. Then there is a Walnut vase (if thats what you call it) thats 6" dia and 8" tall, and again 3/16's wall thickness. Danish oil only, still waiting to buff. I used to turn everything as thin as possible, but got tired of the finished product feeling like a balloon.
Paul
Oh yeah, I still gotta clean up the top edge of the vase before buffing, don't I?

Mark Pruitt
04-03-2007, 2:19 PM
Paul, those are great, especially the sphere. I'm sure you've noticed this already, but the first thing that struck me was that the spalting lines form a shape that somewhat resembles the Eastern US, Central America and the northwestern part of South America. You can even "see" the Yukatan Penninsula if you use your imagination. And no, I ain't smoking anything!:cool:

Jason Slutsky
04-03-2007, 2:22 PM
I'd say much better than "alright". The sphere is what caught my eye first because I saw what I thought was a globe...anyone see N America and the northern part of S America??

Jason Slutsky
04-03-2007, 2:25 PM
You beat me too it Mark! I guess we're both nuts:eek:

I'd save that one Paul...that's a one-of-a-kinder!

TYLER WOOD
04-03-2007, 2:25 PM
No Mark, I saw it too. looks like an old map that only part of the area had been explored. They would only fill in the areas that had been explored. I personally like the walnut vase or whatever it is considered. I love the contrast between the sapwood and the heartwood. Both pieces are splendid examples of fine wood turning!! Good job and welcome to the creek

Bernie Weishapl
04-03-2007, 3:02 PM