PDA

View Full Version : Long time listener, First time caller

Marc Martindale
03-31-2007, 9:06 PM
Thanks to this great forum and all the wonderful people here, most of what I have learned in the past year, I learned here.:)

I'm pretty new to woodworking and totally new to turning, and picked up the Jet mini w/chuck last summer. Yes, I already seem to be caught in a whirl of money and fun.. the Vortex.

I decided to get into turning a little more (small boxes got me started and now I have moved into bigger things such as bowls) and want to get a bigger lathe. I know you'll all call out "Mustard!" or "Mayo!", but I thought I'd like to stay in the $1000 range. That puts me at a Jet 1442 or a Nova 1624. So here's the question:

On April 14th all Jet and PM are 10% off at Woodcraft making it:

Jet 1442 $800
or
Nova 1624 $1000

What say you?

PS - I have figured out most acronyms except SWMBO??? no clue.:confused:

Ken Fitzgerald
03-31-2007, 9:17 PM
Marc............Welcome to the Creek!

SWMBO....She Who Must Be Obeyed..........

I can't advise you on which of the two lathes! I haven't driven either one. Still driving my Mayo Light....Jet VS Mini..........Later this fall I hope to switch to mustard. Good luck with your decision!

BTW......I turn bowls on my Jet Mini.....just a little smaller in diameter!

Christopher K. Hartley
03-31-2007, 9:18 PM
Mark the 1442 is a heavy lathe and well worth the money. In that price range it is the best in my opinion. While other lathes in that range may have additional features that are nice I still believe you get what you pay for. I have not heard any negatives about the Nova but I am really not all that familiar with it. Guess I'm just a Mayo Lite guy at heart.:)I'm sorry Marc, I almost forgot. WELCOME to the ABYSS!!:D :D

Bernie Weishapl
03-31-2007, 9:40 PM