PDA

View Full Version : A Sawmill Creek FIRST! (I think?)

Kevin Gerstenecker
12-22-2003, 11:18 AM
Some of you have heard the "Coffin Story" in the past few days, and I thought I would share it with the rest of the SMC Gang. In short, the College where I work has a Funeral Service/Mortuary Science Department, and I have become good friends with the Department Chair/Professor. Seems he had this neat Coffin that a manufacturer gave him some time ago, and he always wanted to make it into a Bookcase. He found out that I am a Woodworker, and he has been on me for about a year to take on this project. After mulling it over, and growing tired of him asking me to do this for him, I figured, "Why Not"? So, I now have a Coffin in my Shop! :D Solid Cherry, and a beautiful Coffin, as Coffins go, I guess? In the coming months, I will be adding shelves to the interior of the box, and building a base to support the Box, and also to display the top. The Lid will be standing upright on the base, to the left of the Coffin. The challenge will be matching the stain as close as I can to the original finish. I have done some preliminary Staining of some scrap Cherry, and I have come close with Red Mahogany over Wood Conditioner. If anyone has any idea for getting a close match on the new Cherry to the original finish, I would appreciate it VERY, VERY much. I have little experience staining Cherry, and the customer realizes that it won't be an exact match, but I would like to get it as close as I can. Any ideas on staining Cherry, to avoid the blotch's and get a decent match? Thanks in advance for any and all help on this project. The pictures could be better, but a very shiny Coffin is kinda hard to photograph indoors! :D

Joe Tonich
12-22-2003, 11:38 AM