PDA

View Full Version : Finished Display cabinet

Brian Brown
03-26-2007, 6:12 PM
I built this China Hutch/Display Case for my wife. She collects porcelain bridal dolls, and had no way to display them. I am a beginning woodworker, and when I saw the display case in the Sep. 2003 issue of Wood Magazine (issue 150), I wanted to build it for the dolls. She also has a large collection of china and crystal that lived in boxes under the basement stairs. I thought I might be able to somehow combine the cases for both the china, and the dolls. This project was far beyond the scope of my abilities. I spent two years honing my skills, and collecting a few extra tools, and this is the result. The hardest part was modifying the plan from the magazine to the plan for the final display case. I take credit for this project, when in reality, it was a joint venture with my wife. She is very organized, and was invaluable in the plan modifying process, insuring that all parts were accounted for, and had the proper changes made to their dimensions. She also helped in the assembly, and finishing. She grew up in her families lumber yard, and has no inhibitions when it comes to working with wood (OK, she’s not crazy about table saws). I (we) learned a lot with this project. I will probably never build anything this large again. I simply don't have the space and tools for finishing a project this big. I told her that in the future, if I can’t lift it with one hand, it doesn’t get built. We made some mistakes on this one, a few of them serious, but after nine months of living in the garage, here it is.

Brian

John Buzzurro
03-26-2007, 6:21 PM
Brian, that is really beautiful. IMHO, beyond beginner skills. What type of wood did you use?

Greg Cole
03-26-2007, 6:23 PM
Brian,
Looks great & especially for a first. 9 months is a long time on one project and can make it feel as though you will never see it finished... great job on sticking with it!