PDA

View Full Version : Improperly wired tools rant

John Ricci
03-24-2007, 4:42 PM
The other day I posted regarding setting up and sharpening the knives in my Rockwell 37-220 jointer and extolled the virtue of sharp edges until...I started playing around with larger widths of wood and found that the machine slowed down almost to a stop in the middle of a cut. A length of pine 2x6 choking it down was the clincher.

As I stated in my previous post, this is an old machine inherited with my dads shop and he bought it used from an established/reputable machinery dealer in Toronto. What could be wrong? I had to start looking at the possibilities so out came the motor which turned out to be the original Rockwell supplied 1/2 hp 115/230v in what appeared to be perfect shape. Off with the wiring plate and what do I see? This machine is wired in the 230v configuration it left the factory with but "someone" put a 120v 15a plug on the end of the cord and called it a day before checking the motor voltage. My dad never complained about it that I remember and I never even used it until after he passed away so I never knew there was a problem.

For a lack of a length of cab-tire I wired it to 120v and now it just sings through 3" oak without a hint of slowing down and produces that same mirror finish only a lot faster than before;). I will change it back to run 240v at a later date.

Have any of you run into similar issues where you would assume that given the tool was purchased through a reputable vendor it would be "plug n' play" but it turned out to be another story? Imagine if the same mistake were to be made only in reverse with a 240v plug on a 120v motor:eek:?

Ok I'm done:mad:

J.R.

Bruce Page
03-24-2007, 5:34 PM
Not from a dealer, but I did buy a Delta sanding station from a private party. After cleaning it up and mounting the sanding belt and disk I realized it was running backwards. :confused:

CPeter James
03-24-2007, 6:01 PM