PDA

View Full Version : Help with Miters

Craig Walls
03-24-2007, 3:02 PM
Hello all,

It's been several months since I've visited. I'm happy to say that I've been busy building things.
Here's my challenge de jour: miters seem to kick my butt more often than not. The ones that do work, do so because I trimmed or sanded, etc to make them fit. Another aspect of miters I have trouble with is length. It's tough to get identical pieces once one end has that dang point on it! I have a regular old delta c-pound miter that seems to be accurate when I check for angle, square, etc. I've tried them with my miter gauge on the table saw... :(

Who has some advice for their best miter cutting jig, technique, etc.
Thanks in advance. Craig

J.R. Rutter
03-24-2007, 4:47 PM
Miters are definitely hard to get perfect. I make cabinet doors for a living, and have a mitered style that I do regularly. Although I now use a CTD double miter saw with fixed heads and pneumatic clamps, I started with 2 DeWalt CMS. Here are a couple of tips to getting good fitting joints:

1. Measuring fence - it helps tremendously to either set up a stop for each identical length or have an indexing fence system. The fence needs to be 90 deg to the blade for straight crosscuts.

2. Hold the piece securely - a toggle clamp and/or some sandpaper on the saw table will help hold the part still while cutting. Hand pressure on a bare table isn't enough.

3. Blade - I evaluated many blades when I was starting and found the Forrest Chopmaster to be the best combination of price and quality. Believe it or not, they are about in the upper-middle of the range for price.

4. Saw angle - after getting the above figured out, double check the angle detants on your saw by cutting 4 identical mitered pieces and assembling them into a square. The wider the and longer the better to see discrepancies. Keep making them shorter and recutting as you fine tune.

Brian Ross
03-24-2007, 5:20 PM