PDA

View Full Version : best way to join wood

Larry Wyble
03-24-2007, 11:27 AM
I'm new at wood working and have a question.
I have 2 pieces of 6" x 4' x 3/4" that I need make one piece of 12" x 4' x 3/4"
out of. What is the best joint to cut on the edges for this operation?
And what is the best proceedure. IOW, how to actually do the cutting?

Thanks

glenn bradley
03-24-2007, 11:30 AM
Depends. Don't you hate that answer. If the 12' span will be supported (like an apron or backed with studs) a simple opposing 45* edge will give you some increased glue surface. This type of modified butt joint will not take free weight stress however. That is if the joint will be in the middle of a 10 foot unsupported span, it will fail.

We can help better is you can describe what the 12' piece will be used for and mounted too?

John Hain
03-24-2007, 11:37 AM
I think he's making a 4' long 12" wide board.

In this case, just a standard long-grain to long-grain joint will be fine.

You need to choose whatever tools you have to give you 2 parallel surfaces, whether that be a jointer, TS, CS with straight edge, or handplane.

glenn bradley
03-24-2007, 11:45 AM
Oooops. Read Bradley, read! Second cup of coffee kicked in. John's got it.

Shane Newlin
03-24-2007, 11:48 AM
What are your options? Table saw, biscuit joiner, router, jointer, etc.?

Andrew Williams
03-24-2007, 12:51 PM
This may be a neanderthal answer but the cheapest way is with a long handplane. Just put the two pieces in their glue-up orientation, fold them closed like a book, and plane the mating surfaces at the same time. The resulting edge joint will cancel out any error making a perfect flat joint. Test the joint by eye to make sure there is no daylight coming through, then glue and clamp the boards. I don't feel that biscuits are necessary with a well-jointed long-grain to long-grain adhesion.

Larry Wyble
03-24-2007, 12:58 PM
What are your options? Table saw, biscuit joiner, router, jointer, etc.?