PDA

View Full Version : Plunge Routers

Stephen Clem
03-23-2007, 9:56 AM
After completeing a couple of projects as a new woodworker, I have come to realize the importance and versatility of routers. Right now, I have been getting by well enough with a $89 Skil Router and router table combo. :o I can't swing larger bits (they don't even fit the 1/4" collet), so I'm now looking for a new router. Everywhere I reseearch, they say if you only have one router, get a plunge router. I don't understand this. I can't think of anything a plunge base can do that I can't accomplish with my depth setting on the fixed base. Is it just a convenience factor, or are there really tasks that can only be performed with a plunge base? I am thinking that I will go with the big 3 1/4 hp Milwalkee and build a large router table with a phenolic top! :D I also have a Harbor Freight trim router that made quick work of dados in bookshelf sides since they were too large for the table. So unless I am missing something, I think I don't need a plunge based router. Oh and can you help me choose between the two big boys - the fixed based Milwalkee or the Porter Cable? Has anyone used both? Which has better depth adjustments? Thanks!

Also, is there a way to contribute without using PayPal?

Jim Becker
03-23-2007, 10:08 AM
My opinion is that your next stop should be a 12-13 amp (~"2-2.5hp")router with a multi-base kit. Mine is the Dewalt DW618, but most of the major brands offer very nice kits. This is, of course, assuming you are not going to dedicated it to a table. If you are specifically looking for a table system, "go large" with a 15 amp unit such as those you mention...

Personally, I've previously not been favorable of plungers in a table, but the latest generation that offer integral above-table height adjustment changes that and saves money on a lift. (I do use a lift system with a PC 7518 in my router table solution)
--