PDA

View Full Version : Catalpa, Sassafras, and Spalted Buckeye

steven carter
03-22-2007, 9:09 AM
A friend gave me 2 good sized logs each of Catalpa, Sassafras, and Spalted Buckeye,
the buckeye is a little punky (hopefully it doesn't go intoo far from the ends). I'v anchor sealed the ends for future turning. I've no experience with these woods, has anyone had any experience with these woods? Anything I should know?

Ken Fitzgerald
03-22-2007, 9:21 AM
Steven....Welcome to the Creek! While I haven't turned any of the woods you asked about, I have a piece of sassafras that was sent to me and I need to turn. Thanks for reminding me!

Paul Engle
03-22-2007, 9:39 AM
Steve, also welcome. I have a piece of Catalpa ( coffee wood ) coming from Kentucky ( Kentucky Lake area) this week, I will turn as soon as it gets here and can let you know. It is 8x11x5 for a bowl , dry and seasoned , no pith.
but to answer you're question, nope......

Leo Pashea
03-22-2007, 12:52 PM
Steve, also welcome. I have a piece of Catalpa ( coffee wood ) coming from Kentucky ( Kentucky Lake area) this week, I will turn as soon as it gets here and can let you know. It is 8x11x5 for a bowl , dry and seasoned , no pith.
but to answer you're question, nope......

Catalpa and Kentucky Coffee Tree are 2 very different trees. I have turned Catalpa, and it is wonderful to work. Carvers like it as well, as it is fairly soft and easily tooled. Catalpa has beautiful grain, and is also fairly stable. Coffee Tree wood is hard and heavy, with grain that resembles Sassafras. It turns well also.

Paul Engle
03-22-2007, 2:18 PM
I wondered about that, the carver sending the catalpa made it sound like it was a variety of coffee wood, ah thanks for heads up Leo, like Steven I have not turned any of the ones he is asking about .

Christopher K. Hartley
03-22-2007, 4:33 PM