PDA

View Full Version : Thanks Mark Singer...

peter slamp
03-21-2007, 10:51 PM
The thread about contemporary furniture inspired me, the noob, to start designing furniture that appeals to me, even if it's not necessarily 'traditional'. Since I have only been doing this for a couple of months I've been mostly trying projects that while fun, weren't really my style. After our discussion I decided to design a table that is inspired by your amazing table. I don't have access to I-beams and cool stuff like that, so I welded some legs from mild steel. The top is a beautiful (IMO) slab of Sapelle. It's hard to see the grain since the picture is taken at night. I mounted oak stretchers onto the metal cross beams to attach the top and also give an illusion of 'floating'. I used shellac for the first time and really liked it, especially with this wood. Thanks to all who endured my endless questions about finishes!

The internet really is an amazing tool. I'm completely self taught (obviously, I'm sure) and have learned everything from books and mostly sites like this. I don't know if I would have had the confidence to start a daunting hobby like this 10 years ago. It's amazing the knowledge, as little as it is relative to all of you, I've gained here in my 3 months of WW. Thanks for making the beginning of my journey so enjoyable! :D

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y86/pslamp32/newtable1.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y86/pslamp32/newtable2.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y86/pslamp32/newtable3.jpg

p.s. please don't laugh at my family room furniture. My wife actually likes it! Oh and the carpet came with the house, just haven't ripped it up yet! LOL. :p

Don Bullock
03-21-2007, 11:14 PM
Nice work Peter. While your design is not what I'd want, it looks great. I really like the simplicity of your modernistic look. That wood is beautiful. Congratulations on a job well done.

Yes, the Internet is definately an amazing tool.

glenn bradley
03-21-2007, 11:21 PM