PDA

View Full Version : Winding sticks and striaght edges?

C-Dave Thompson
03-20-2007, 10:44 PM
Hello
This may seem like a really niave question. I am just starting to learn woodworking. The first thing I am trying to learn is how to get a 4 square
board. From what I have read ,one is to use winding sticks and a straight
edge to find twist and high spots. When using winding sticks are you supposed to move the rear stick in increments to the front stick ? Or are you just looking for the two ends of the board to be within the same plane? While using the straight edge and you have a board that only has slivers of light showing through but the straight edge does not rock , is that good enough or do you have to try to get rid of all the tiny little high spots? And what is the a sequence of when to use the winding sticks and straight edge. For instance do you use the winding sticks first to get rid of wind then use the striat edge to find and knock down the high spots or vice versa. Or are they used together through the whole flattening process. eg (check twist, plane, check high spots,plane ect....). Am I over thinking this ?? BTW its nice to meet everyone.

Caleb Dietrich
03-20-2007, 10:58 PM
The winding sticks and the straight edge will help you get a feel for what needs to happen. You might even start by studying the plank by eye. Work the concave side and knock down high spots.
You might want to leave a little more detail about what you're doing specifically. I'm assuming you're using hand planes and trying to get a board to use in a piece of furniture...In that case it should meet up with a straight edge pretty well.

C-Dave Thompson
03-20-2007, 11:04 PM
Correct I am using Hand planes. Not really looking to build anything yet. I am just trying to learn how to get something flat and usable. Once I master that then I will attempt to build something.

Mark Stutz
03-20-2007, 11:24 PM