PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone made snowshoes?

Peter Galbert
03-20-2007, 1:33 PM
I'm facing a terrible problem. I have 28 buckets collecting sap for maple syrup in my woods and about 18 inches of snow to trudge through. I started looking for plans for snowshoes, no way will I buy them, I bend wood for a living! Lemme know if you've made them or have any good rescources. thanx

Doug Shepard
03-20-2007, 2:11 PM
You might also search for tennis racquet making. The old style wooden ones wood have to use almost identical construction methods I would think.

Kevin LaPean
03-20-2007, 10:48 PM
One of the best known guides to snowshoe construction is Gil Gilpatrick's book "Building Snowshoes and Snowshoe Furniture." This book covers the basics of building snowshoes, including frame construction and lacing.

For those that would like to make more traditionally styled Native American snowshoes, Henri Vaillancourt's "Making the Attikamek Snowshoe" is an invaluable reference. This book discusses the design of the snowshoes used by one Native American tribe in Quebec and details each step of their construction, from harvesting the tree and shaping the frames with a crooked knife, to making rawhide strips from animal hides, and finally weaving the rawhide. The lacing patterns on some of the snowshoes pictured are incredibly intricate and make me wonder if I would ever be able to weave such a fine design in my own pair of snowshoes.

When I built a pair of Ojibwa-style shoes a few years ago, I used a different reference book, which I can't seem to find at the moment. The Ojibwa snowshoes eliminate some of the trickier bending at the tip by using two separate pieces for the sides and joining both ends at a point. Either the classic Maine or bearpaw designs might be better suited to collecting pails of sap, as they are shorter, wider designs that are more maneuverable than the longer Ojibwa.

Peter Galbert
03-21-2007, 9:22 AM