PDA

View Full Version : A humbling experience...........

Ken Fitzgerald
03-17-2007, 7:01 PM
A fellow Creeker was looking for someone to turn 12 knobs for a project of he is making and I voluteered. The wood is bubinga. He asked where to get the wood and I told him CSUSA where I get a lot of my wood and I told him what size to get. I didn't take into account the smallest diameter the jaws of my chuck would grip before I advised him which wood size to get. Well..I didn't give my self much extra to work with..........

What a humbling experience. I practiced for 3 weeks and went through about 5 feet of 3"x 3" poplar. You'd think it wouldn't be that hard but it sure has been a chore for me. I sure found out what my turning skills are...or are not! I'm glad I'm not a production turner. I'd starve to death! I called John Hart and was whining to him about my progress and/or success and the lack there of and John said...."You remember what NAVY stood for?".......I didn't.........John's reply....."Never Again Voluteer Yourself!"........I'm getting so old I'd forgotten.....:o

For you new turners who've been asking about "shoulders" or "tenons" on you projects for use in your chuck......take a look at the last photo.....Some of the tenons are only 1/8" long.....The jaws grip the tenon but the forces applied while you are turning are supported on the shoulder of the tenon......

Here they are.....John ....there's 15 ....I hope you can find a dozen worth using...........

Humbly submitted for scrutiny.......

Ron Journeau
03-17-2007, 7:06 PM
perseverence wins again..nice job Ken, and anyone who has turned will know how hard it can be to do just two of anything, never mind fifteen...I already gave a friend one candlestick, told him to put it in the window, as he wouldn't be getting a matched pair for the table. :o

Chris Barton
03-17-2007, 7:14 PM