PDA

View Full Version : Venerring Questions?

richard poitras
03-12-2007, 12:32 PM
Had a few questions in regards to veneering, what kind of cutters are most of you using in regards to cutting geometric shapes (strait cuts)? In looking at some of the veneering info out there some are using veneering saw’s, utility craft knives, Japanese marking knives and round wheel cutters .Is one better than another and if so what are preferred? And what brands are the best and place to get them?
Also do you guys use the self-healing mats to cut on, not sure if they are helpful or not.
Plus I was wondering how most of you remove the veneering tape? With water, scraping or sanding? Or what …..
Also what glues do you use and prefer? Thanks for any and all help I am just getting started in doing some basic veneering patterns for box tops and am trying to get set up with the right way to go (still learning)

Roger Barga
03-12-2007, 6:31 PM
For most of my cutting I use a well sharpened veneer saw (two cherries brand) with a straight edge to guide the cut, with hardboard or MDF underneath. For detail cutting, I use a scalpel with a self-healing mat underneath; yes, I find these helpful and have four in different sizes. Try to find Frank Pollaro's (sp?) video on veneering - he presents a good tutorial on sharpening the veneer saw; as with many things in woodworking, this can make all the difference in how the tool performs.

For removing veneer tape, use lots of water to loosen the tape. Sharpen the edge of a putty knife and use this to lift the moistened tape. Clean up any residue with a scraper.

For glue up, I've had good luck with simple veneering glue, which I believe is a yellow glue with a thickner added, and execellent results with Unibond (though I'm often too lazy to mix up a batch unless it's a big project).

roger

Jim Tobias
03-12-2007, 6:36 PM
Richard,