PDA

View Full Version : Source for 6" PVC dust collection pipe in Albuquerque area

Tri Hoang
03-05-2007, 9:07 PM
Hi,

I am new to smc and it's my first post. I just got around to setting up a cyclone DC system after spending some time researching it on Bill Perentz website. I am having trouble locating a source for 6" PVC dust pipe in the Albuquerque area. I tried the home centers but none carried pipe that size.
Thanks.

--Tri

Jim Becker
03-05-2007, 9:13 PM
Tri, welcome to SMC!!

Get out your yellow pages and check for irrigation suppliers as well as plumbing suppliers for the 6" S&D pipe.

Peter Russell
03-05-2007, 10:14 PM
I seem to remember there is a static electricity spark issue with that stuff ?
Solution is earth wire inside pipe maybe ?

Pete

Peter Russell
03-05-2007, 10:16 PM
googled it...yep
http://www.woodweb.com/knowledge_base/PVC_piping.html

Pete

Justin Dreier
03-05-2007, 10:19 PM
Tri - Although I'm not in your area. I had the same problem last year. I ended up calling a couple plumbers to see where they go for 6" S&D. If they do larger plumbing jobs, they will know where to get it at. I found a supply house that is a wholesale supply. They don't get homeowner traffic, but they didn't mind pulling up a small order for me.

Jim O'Dell
03-06-2007, 11:40 AM
Tri, do a Google search for: Morrison Supply Company click the first entry (I'd post a link here, but Web (NON)Sense has me blocked!). They have one or more locations in NM. I got my pipe from them locally. Didn't have fittings, or didn't know they have fittings. When you call, don't call it SD 2729. Call it 6" thin wall gravity feed pipe...they can find it that way. Seems like it is 1.86/foot plus tax. I did get my last 3 sections for half that!! A guy there took a liking to my van full of dog crates and stereo system. :D Let me know if you have trouble with them locating the pipe, I'll find the part number. One guy in Houston had to do that to get it there. Jim.

Ken Garlock