PDA

View Full Version : Contemporary Furniture...

peter slamp
03-04-2007, 6:41 PM
I know I'm definitely in the minority here, but I like contemporary-(euro?) style furniture. I know that alot of it is cheaply made crap. I'm very new to all of this but what I'd like to do is eventually get good enough to make higher quality versions of this style of furniture. The problem is that it seems that most woodworkers are into older styled work. Don't get me wrong, I think that this kind of furniture is very nice, just not my style unfortunately. I think Mark Singer definitely 'speaks to me' most on this site. This table that I believe he designed and built just blows me away

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=57919&d=1171431652

My question is this... for those few of you who might share my design inspirations, where do you look for plans, techniques, advise etc. I have a book I got off Amazon that has some plans for Contemporary furniture. Are there some other good sources? Thanks. Also many thanks to Mr. Mark Singer for truly inspiring me the noob! By the way, the bed you just built blows me away too!:)

Mike Henderson
03-04-2007, 7:05 PM
The best thing to do is to design your own. Look at pictures of the furniture you like and combine appropriate aspects. One problem with contemporary furniture is that it's often very sculptural which requires different construction techniques than the linear construction of some older styles (such as Arts and Crafts Furniture).

Don't be afraid to use your vision.

Mike

Mark Singer
03-04-2007, 7:16 PM
Peter,