PDA

View Full Version : Attention Lathe Experts: Jet 14-42 or the 16-42?

Jeff Wright
03-04-2007, 4:57 PM
Jet offers the JWL 14-42 lathe for $899 and the JWL 16-42 for $1,699. The 16-42 features the electronic variable speed versus the Reeves Drive Pulley system on the 14-42. While the 14-42 allows turning a large 20" bowl on the end of the lathe, it appears to me that the motor location on the 16-42 would prevent turning on the outside end of the bed. $800 is a good bit difference in price, but would it be wise for me to go the extra for the 16-42? At that rate, the PowerMatic begins to look appealing. I am new to turning.

Joyce Baldauf
03-04-2007, 5:40 PM
Jeff,

The EVS on the 1642 is a sweet option to have. If you are turning a large, out-of-round piece, you can start reeeealy slowly. Slower speeds are also great for sanding. The 1642 also enables you to reverse the spin of the lathe. The head stock on the 1642 slides to the left end of the bed where, with the use of a floor mounted tool rest, you can turn larger bowls. However, if you are primarily interested in bowl turning, there are certainly other lathes worth exploring that are specifically for bowls.

Scott Gibbons
03-04-2007, 6:05 PM
I faced the same issue, I am going for the powermatic 3520b. If you watch amazon.com you can catch 10% off and free shipping

Dominic Greco
03-04-2007, 6:19 PM
I highly recommend the Jet JWL-1642EVS. I've had mine for 5 years now and just love using it. I wrote a review (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/articles/6/) of that lathe for SMC. I suggest reading up on it and some of your questions may be answered. BTW, the VSD hasn't given me a lick of problems and I just love using it. It is definitely worth the extra dough to have that option.