PDA

View Full Version : New Meat... Old Lathe...

Kaptan J.W. Meek
03-03-2007, 7:10 PM
Hi, I'm new to Sawmill Creek, but I've been turning about two years... I've been using a highly modified, cheap Ebay Lathe. I've modified the thing, because "Necessity is the mother of invention." Turned some nice table legs, lots of pens, bottle stoppers, and a few nice bowls that have really ignited the addiction to turning.. Well, a few days ago I came into posession of an old lathe. It's big, heavy, and I don't think it will be too much trouble cleaning it up.. I'm pretty sure it's an Oliver, but the plate is missing.. from pictures of other olivers the bed looks right, the last owner did some "customizing".. but the worst of it is, it's incomplete. The tool rest is missing some parts, and there is this "diamond" shaped rail that runs along the front of the bed, I think it's for some kind of adjustable tool rest, but I can't find any thing that goes to it.. If anyone knows of websites that can help to find parts and information on this machine I would certainly appreciate it. Other than that, I like the site, I'm glad to be here, and look forward to talking and getting to know you guys. I've been browsing the other posts, and have seen some nice work.. I'll be listening a little more on the "segmented" bowl threads. Thats something that interests me, but it has seemed like a bit too much trouble to me.... Thanks again for any info about the Oliver lathes..

Thor Sorensen
03-03-2007, 9:03 PM
Welcome - if you can post a picture I am sure that one of the more experienced turners will be able to enlighten you.

-Thor

Tom Sherman
03-03-2007, 9:10 PM
Kaptan welcome to Smc, there is a website for topics like this I think it is OWWM.com if I have it wrong, someone will correct me.

Bernie Weishapl
03-03-2007, 9:36 PM
Kaptan welcome to Creek. Lots of good people and lots of knowledge.

Steve Schlumpf
03-03-2007, 10:49 PM