PDA

View Full Version : Which Dovetail Jig AKEDA OR LEIGH???

Tom McCann
03-01-2007, 1:53 PM
I was hoping I could get a poll going on pro and cons of both models.

I am in the market for a dovetail jig and would like something that will last with time and fairly easy to setup. :eek:

I am new to dovetailing, but realize that dovetails are the right choice for drawer and other applications.

Any suggestions are welcome

Quite confused over all the options seems like leigh and akeda are the big choices why are they so $$$ over say the simpler models like PC

Darroll Walsh
03-01-2007, 2:01 PM
Are you open to other ways to make dovetails? like Incra's LS Super System?

Jody Malinich
03-01-2007, 2:06 PM
Darroll,

I'm new to dovetail world also. I picked up the Liegh D4R a couple of weeks ago. Very simple to use and set up. Spendy, but ease of use and variety of spacing were my decision factors. The manual that comes with it is very thorough and I had perfect dovetails first time thru with very minor adjustment to get the fit I was looking for.

Jody

Jason Tuinstra
03-01-2007, 2:26 PM
Tom, I have owned the Leigh D4 for quite some time and have no complaints. It's a quality product that will do all that you want in whatever configuration that you want.

While I prefer the look of handcut dovetails, I still use the Leigh for projects where speed is required and it's never let me down.

Tom McCann
03-01-2007, 2:38 PM
Would you say the D4 is the best bet? Does everything come with that package?

Mike Hill
03-01-2007, 3:30 PM
Tom: I have the Akeda DC 16. Prior to that I owned a Porter Cable jig. I could never understand the instructions with Porter Cable and finally sold it. When I purchased the Akeda, It came with very clear and specific instructions. I might add, I have heard nothing but good things about the Leigh Jig's.
Mike

Dave Richards
03-01-2007, 3:51 PM
Why not look at the WoodRat?

Cliff Rohrabacher
03-01-2007, 4:02 PM
I have the Omnijig and the Leigh D4.