PDA

View Full Version : Moving to Austin, Texas

John D. Thompson
02-28-2007, 9:35 PM
Hello Sawmill Creek!

I am a self employed woodworker of 25 years and I will be moving to Austin later in March.

I had a little shop there in the late 90s between Fifth and Sixth streets, just West of Lamar Ave.

Despite my best efforts, I have yet to find a place to live and set up shop and I am hoping that someone on this board can point me in the right direction.

Any suggestions or even offers of good fellowship and/or good wishes will be greatly appreciated and returned to the best of my ability.

Thanks, JT

Jim Becker
03-01-2007, 12:34 AM
Just be aware that some of us consider Ausin "candy land"...that's where the folks from Mini Max roost!

John D. Thompson
03-03-2007, 1:11 PM
Just be aware that some of us consider Ausin "candy land"...that's where the folks from Mini Max roost!

Hi Jim,

I didn't know that about MM. My personal preference in the 'candy jar' is older US/Canadian cast iron.

In fact, one of my fantasies was to own one of those old Walker-Turner wood/metal band saws.

I say 'was' because I read a thread on here about phase converters and variable speed controllers. The fantasy now centers on a 24" Oliver.

JT

Jim Becker
03-03-2007, 1:55 PM
Well, stop by the Mini Max show room on Centimeter Drive when you get situated and have a chat. Even if your taste is to old iron, you'll appreciate the experience...and Sam Blasco's furniture and cabinetry work is outstanding. His show is right in the facility as he both sells and teaches for Mini Max.

Jason King
03-05-2007, 4:49 PM
Since your interests are Bar-B-Q, you've come to the right place.

Things have changed a bit since the early 90's. Downtown is now being developed at a fairly quick rate with high rises. Formerly bad areas of town have now been "gentrified" for tech yuppies. Nothing necessarily wrong with that, just letting you know.