PDA

View Full Version : Bedside Table (Design in Progress)

Paul Fitzgerald
02-27-2007, 8:16 PM
Hey everyone!

Here's a Bedside Table design I'm working on. It's not quite complete -- the design is missing the drawer and drawer guides -- but all the joinery is there.

Since I'm a relative newbie at this sort of thing, I thought I'd solicit your opinions on the design and, more specifically, the joinery and whether it seems workable.

http://homepage.mac.com/pgfitzgerald/BedsideTable001.jpg

Thanks for looking!

Paul

John Schreiber
02-28-2007, 11:27 PM
Paul,

I downloaded the SU file and played with it a bit today. The things which stuck out to me were:

1. I prefer the lower shelf to not stick out from the case.
2. I think the lipped drawer conflicts with the strong vertical frame and the drawer should be flush mounted.
3. I wasn't sure if the legs should have a bit of taper near the bottom or not. I think it looks better with a bit of taper, but then they start to compete with the arch for attention.
4. The frame and panel sides have an offset from the vertical frames, but not from the horizontal ones. I think it would look better to have a consistant offset all around.

The joinery looks good. I didn't see any problems there.

Paul Fitzgerald
03-01-2007, 12:04 AM
Paul,

I downloaded the SU file and played with it a bit today. The things which stuck out to me were:

1. I prefer the lower shelf to not stick out from the case.
2. I think the lipped drawer conflicts with the strong vertical frame and the drawer should be flush mounted.
3. I wasn't sure if the legs should have a bit of taper near the bottom or not. I think it looks better with a bit of taper, but then they start to compete with the arch for attention.
4. The frame and panel sides have an offset from the vertical frames, but not from the horizontal ones. I think it would look better to have a consistant offset all around.

The joinery looks good. I didn't see any problems there.

John,