PDA

View Full Version : Router alternatives

Brian Kent
02-25-2007, 10:57 AM
I just posted a question on the general woodworking forum about controlling router noise.

Since I am a galloot wanabe trainee, what can I use as alternatives to routers?

I am guessing that before electricity woodworkers didn't just hold a router bit next to the wood and turn in circles.

Roy McQuay
02-25-2007, 11:11 AM
Planes and chisels. My shaper doesn't make near as much noise as any of my routers and it has a much lower pitch.

Brian Kent
02-25-2007, 11:20 AM
What kind of shaper do you use?

Gerry Musson
02-25-2007, 11:26 AM
There are all kinds of specialty planes that can be used as an option to an electrical router. Planes like the Stanely #79 adjustable rabbit plane, hand routers such as the Stanley #71, and wooden moulding planes. There are also repo's of these being made by LV, LN and others.

A lot of these items can be aquired at a reasonable cost at antique shops, or on-line auctions. Watch the Classified section of SMC for bargains.

But watch it, as they say its a slippery slope.

Mike K Wenzloff
02-25-2007, 11:32 AM
Hi Brian,

I make most of my moldings for furniture with molding planes. Some larger moldings I make are with a combination of plow planes and hollows & rounds.

Joinery such as rabbets are quicker for me to cut with a moving fillister plane than setting up my shaper.

Planes are task specific, like router bits themselves. So one can gather a few in the course of doing the work of furniture making. Saving grace is there are quite a few vintage ones on the market and always will be.

However, if all you want to do is cut noise, a shaper is definite progress. Now, it is the noise of the machine which is what is quiter. The cutting of the wood is still on the noisy side. That one cannot escape from.