PDA

View Full Version : Laser Design and info

Pat Riley
02-27-2003, 1:56 PM
I have designed Lasers as a career for the last decade. I have worked on systems as small as 1 watt to as large as several Kilo-watts, in many different wavelegths and media.

Being a long time woodworker, I have played with lasers in wood a great deal. I have done several projects with lasers, and have watched with interest as others in woodworking become familiar with this new potential.

I am excited to have this forum available now. It will be fun to see what people come up with. If you have any questions that the guys who own units cant answer, I may be able to give you a decent explaination from a system engineer's standpoint.

Pat

Keith Outten
02-27-2003, 8:58 PM
Pat,

We are sure happy to have you with us, since this is a subject that is so new to woodworkers we hope to be in the forground of getting the word out and helping people learn at least the basics. I know that with the right approach there will be a substantial interest in the subject.

I have visited almost every laser forum and site I could find on the Net in the last year. Not one site had what I really needed, information geared toward someone who is new to the technology, a place where basic answers to questions could be found and to learn. Most of the sites want you to buy this or sell that...not much information about using lasers.

As this forum and all its posts will remain active for a very long time I hope to grow the subject over a period of time in a logical manner. There is talent out there, several people have contacted me but we could not find a place to gather that would be supportive of the technology.

As fast as I can I hope to start sharing Corel projects we have developed and CAD drawings that are also hard to find.

Pat Riley
02-28-2003, 12:19 PM
Keith,