PDA

View Full Version : Machine Placement Question

Doug Kerley
02-18-2007, 6:07 AM
Hello All,

I am new to the post and and very grateful for its existance. I have done a lot of research on this site and have found it to be indepensible. Thank you.

I am in the process of upgrading my old equipment and adding some new equimpent in my new shop and have a question regarding machine placement. The plan is to create a machine island in the middle of the shop. It will consist of a SAWSTOP table saw w/Jessem slider, an 18 inch General International Bandsaw and a 3 HP Delta Shaper.

I have not used a shaper before and am planning the purchase to replace my substandard router table set-up that I built into my old tablesaw (Yes, I have read the router vs. shaper threads). Since I have no experience with the shaper, and have not been able to see one in the metal, and after viewing only pictures of the machine, my first question is how much clearance does one need around the whole shaper? I am planning a minimum of 8' both before and after the spindle in line with the fence - perpendicular to the mitre slot. The back of the machine is proposed to butt up close to a vertical dust collection pipe that supports the 3 machines DC requirements. How much room do you usually need behind the machine if you are using the mitre gage? I can't think of any operations that would use more than the table depth. Please correct this assumption.

The 3 machine set-up proposal is as pictured. The table heights will all be the same. The whole idea is to be able to machine at least an 8' piece of wood at all of the machines and to use the table saw as support for the band saw. The dust collection and power runs down between the center of the 3 machines.

Any suggestions that you have concerning this proposal would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Doug Kerley
Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Richard Keller
02-18-2007, 9:34 AM