PDA

View Full Version : Close to a decision-new laser-comments please

Larry Bratton
02-17-2007, 10:57 AM
After reading the great information posted here, various other articles etc. I am close to a decision on the new laser and I would appreciate any comments good or bad.
At this time, I am almost ready to place the initial deposit on an Epilog Helix 18 x 24 -40w. My decision is based on a couple of things, paramount being that the Epilog distributor is within 50 miles of me and service is at the top of my list. Considering that I am new to lasers, I am going to depend on him for training, assisting with the setup and doing some initial on site training. Since I am close to him geographically I would hope to establish a better working relationship than I would with someone over the phone in a distant city. If I run into difficulties, hopefully he will be easy to contact.
As far as the machine itself goes, it appears that the Epilog machines are very high quality with many built in features The 18 x 24 size lends itself to using 1/4 sheets of plastic engraving stock with some room left over if needed. I did not feel that the next step up to the Legend for another $8000 or so was what I need to spend. I don't have a need at this time for that size bed. I own a 16 x 24 Vision rotary engraver and I can remember a time when that size wasn't adequate for what we were doing.(Mainly signage for door and room identification). Input appreciated.

Frank Corker
02-17-2007, 12:18 PM
Hi Larry I have that machine and I am 100% satisfied with my service I received from Epilog. I encountered a problem a short time ago (search on my previous posts) and not only did they resolve my problem, they went above and beyond their committments.

The machine is fantastic to use and loads of room. Joe Pelonio is a well established Sawmill Creek critter and he does a great deal of excellent work with his Epilog, mainly to do with signage.