PDA

View Full Version : Truing up cupped boards without joiner

Greg McCallister
02-15-2007, 5:34 AM
I have a delta 12" planner but only have a 4"joiner (craftsman).
Can one true up a cupped piece of wood with just a planner?

Bob Reda
02-15-2007, 5:50 AM
Folks will say no but heres what I do. I run it on the rails of the cup side until I get a nice wide flat spot on the back. At that point I flip it over and take out the rails and then keep flippng it until done. I've been doing it this way for many years.

Bob

Dan Forman
02-15-2007, 6:17 AM
The Feb 2005 issue of Fine Woodworking (#175) has an article on making a sled for a planer that will allow you to joint on a planer. There is also a video to go along with the article, but you have to be a member of their on line service to view it. You can join just for a month if you want, and download articles to your hearts content.

Dan

glenn bradley
02-15-2007, 10:49 AM
I use a sled. Just a piece of particle board with a bunch of holes in it where I have placed short screws to support the wobble-points of the offending material and a block attached to the front so the planer draws the material and sled both through. Super simple. There's a picture of it in this thread:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=51308

Scott Pearson
02-15-2007, 5:03 PM
The Feb 2005 issue of Fine Woodworking (#175) has an article on making a sled for a planer that will allow you to joint on a planer. There is also a video to go along with the article, but you have to be a member of their on line service to view it. You can join just for a month if you want, and download articles to your hearts content.

Dan

I built that planer sled and have used it alot. However, it is big and heavy and I have had problems with the size.