PDA

View Full Version : Smells like...Wood

Robert Wood
02-14-2007, 6:46 PM
I'm a relative newbie to the woodworking scene and I have what might seem like a fairly basic question. Here goes...

My wife and I are expecting our first child :D and I recently completed a dresser/changing table for the nursery. As cost was an issue, the cabinet and drawer fronts are pine and for the drawer sides and bottoms I used 1/2 inch plywood. While the exterior of the dresser was painted, I applied a coat of water based poly to the drawer sides and bottoms.

HERE'S THE QUESTION...After being inside with the drawers open for approximately 3 weeks, there is still a distinct smell of "wood" emanating from the drawers. As this was my first project with drawers or a substantial amount of plywood I was wondering if this smell is common. Any idea? If not normal, any thoughts on how to cure the problem? The baby is due VERY soon (yes, I'm getting a bit nervous about being a parent :eek: ) and I'm trying to avoid a second coat of poly. Any thoughts would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!
-Bob

P.S. - I'm in awe of the knowledge displayed by the members of Sawmill Creek. The projects and skill displayed here give me something to shoot for! Thanks again!

Don Bullock
02-14-2007, 6:55 PM
...P.S. - I'm in awe of the knowledge displayed by the members of Sawmill Creek. The projects and skill displayed here give me something to shoot for! Thanks again!

I fully agree and wish I had some knowledge so that I could answer your question.

Congratulations on the new addition to your family. Welcome to the "Creek."

Dan Forman
02-14-2007, 8:21 PM
I guess I don't see the problem with wood smelling like wood. What specifically is your concern? Actually wood smells much better than some things found near changing stations. :eek: Congrats on your near parent status, but I wouldn't worry about wood smelling like wood.

Dan

Mike Parzych
02-14-2007, 8:55 PM