PDA

View Full Version : Aerosol lacquer problems

Lloyd Haanstra
12-03-2003, 2:08 PM
Introducing myself as a new member.

Dennis Peacock told me about the sawmillcreek site and one visit got me hooked. Here I find answers to questions and will visit often.
I am an amateur woodworker, making mostly sawdust and once in a while a toy for my grandkids with my scroll saw, lathe, bandsaw and other adult toys. I work for Deft, a name known to many of you since we make Deft Clear Wood Finish, a brushing lacquer. I want to use this opportunity to share with you the problems we encountered with the aerosol version of our Clear Wood Finish. We have used the largest aerosol packager in the US to package our product in aerosol cans. This went well for many years, but a few years ago we started getting complaints about leakage with many cans. The leakage occurs when the blue actuator moves up, seperating from the valve. When this occurs, the lacquer leaks out in the “cup” and when you tip the can it spills on your work piece. We tried other valves, but our cutomers spoke loud and clear, no other valve is acceptable. After working close with our aerosol packager the good news is that they have developed a new design for this valve. We just completed a field test and the feedback from our beta testers was an overwhelming, enthousiastic endorsement that the leakage problem is solved. Now our packager needs to have a new mold made for the new valve parts and that will be ready sometime next spring. In the meantime, if you encounter a leaking can, give us a call and Deft will send you replacement cans.

Dennis, thank you for telling me about Sawmillcreek.

Lloyd Haanstra
Irvine, California.

Noah Alkinburgh
12-03-2003, 4:17 PM
Welcome to the Creek Lloyd. Its good to have you. Thanks for the heads up on the sprayer problem...I just got some a month or two a go and will keep an eye open.