PDA

View Full Version : Laser engraver pricing...

Ed Davidson
02-13-2007, 2:29 PM
I'm new to this form, but not new to small-shop laser engravers. Never owned one, but seen many models in operation, going back to 1997. Actually, I've had it in my mind to buy one of these machines, like the Epilog Mini 24/35 watt model, for at least the past five years, but keep running into emotional and pocket book resistance.

Does anyone know why prices from most of the manufactures and distributors are kept so close to the vest?

Has anyone considered, or successfully pulled off a group-buy intended to capture a quantity discount?

And, is there any information source that provides a head-to-head comparison of the various manufacturer’s specs, prices, warranty, and any other useful metrics?

Frankly, all this price secrecy really turns me off.

Lee DeRaud
02-13-2007, 2:47 PM
Not sure what you mean by "price secrecy": when I was shopping for mine, I had no trouble at all getting prices. Most of the entry-level machines have the prices right on the web sites, but getting quotes for other configurations rarely took more than an email.

Jeanette Brewer
02-13-2007, 2:53 PM
Ed,

Hello! I'm not sure if you're referring to manufacturers' websites or if you're having trouble getting pricing from distributors.

IF your comments are based on the fact that the pricing is not published on mfg. websites, I can tell you that the manufacturers for whom we distribute expect us to disseminate pricing information. One of our laser manufacturers gives distributors the ability to set their own pricing; therefore, if said mfg. published a price on the website, it might or might not be correct for your particular area.

IF you're having trouble getting pricing information from your local distributor, I'd be surprised. Most of us are happy to provide that info right up front. If you'll provide your email address, I'd be happy to forward the Xenetech Laser price list.