PDA

View Full Version : resaw blade question

John Ziebron
02-13-2007, 1:14 PM
Hello everyone. :)

This is my first post and after looking around I wish I had discovered this forum a long time ago. I'm a serious hobbyist with moderate skills, having done woodworking for about 20 years now. I just upgraded my bandsaw to the Rikon 18 incher (couldn't pass up Woodcraft's sale). After wiring up a new 220 outlet I was able to cut my first pieces of wood and a little aluminum this weekend. What a difference compared to my old Sears 12 inch tilt head. I don't plan on doing a lot of resawing but that was one of the primary reasons for the upgrade (along with spending some unexpected bonus money from work before my wife thought of something else). I had purchased a 1/2 inch blade designed for resawing for my Sears unit, the widest it would accept, but it was still a risky proposition at best. I want to get a good blade for the Rikon but have a couple of questions. Reading some other posts on this subject with this caliber bandsaw folks talk about using a 1 inch blade. Since the Rikon, and many others I'm sure, can accept a wider blade like 1 1/4 inch wouldn't a wider blade be better for resawing.:confused: Also looking for a blade recommendation. It seems as though if money were no object the Lennox carbide would be the only choice. But I can't justify that much money for the resawing use it would get so I'm wondering if anyone has experience with the Lennox bimetal, the Wood Slicer, Timberwolf or any others in this range. Thanks in advance for any help.

Mike Cutler
02-13-2007, 3:06 PM
John.

First, Welcome to Sawmill Creek. Pleased to meet ya'.

I have the Rikon, model 10-340, 18" bandsaw. I currently use a 1" Lennox 2-3 varipitch Bi-metal blade,a nd I also have a Tri-Master in the same configuration.