PDA

View Full Version : A Few Questions about Oil Stones

Caleb Dietrich
02-12-2007, 10:42 PM
Hello Everyone,

I have been laying low, enjoying the forum for a few months. The discussions are great. This is my first post…

I’m looking for some feedback about the use and maintenance of oil stones. I have DMT diamond stones, Norton waterstones, and a set of Woodcraft’s 8x3 natural Arkansas stones (Washita, Soft Arkansas, and a Hard Black Arkasas Stone). The waterstones have become the ones I use the most. They work fast and produce an excellent edge. But it can be a hassle to flatten them. I also do not like putting my tools into water. There have been times where I’ve left a chisel out on my bench or reassembled a plane, without thoroughly wiping it down.

I think the answer to my problems is to use oilstones for quickly honing tools as I am working. However, I am not as familiar with them. My questions are:

Are the stones I have a good quality? Or will others work faster/better?

When I first got them they were not flat, at all. I used a DMT stone to flatten them? Is that ok? Should I continue to do so periodically?

I currently finish with an 8000 grit Norton waterstone. Can oil stones give me similar results?

I’ll appreciate any feedback. Thanks a lot.

Robert Rozaieski
02-13-2007, 8:49 AM
I can't comment on the quality of the Woodcraft stones as I have never used them myself so perhaps someone else can chime in. I use Hall's soft, hard and black followed by a strop from Tools for Working Wood. You seem to have quite a selection so I would say to work with what you have as they will work. No need to get other stones. I would recommend adding a strop though if you plan to use the oil stones.

Flattening the oil stones with the DMT is fine. You should not need to do it again for a very long time. A few years for the Washita & Soft Arkansas and probably never for the black.