PDA

View Full Version : Thinner for oil based filler?

Bob Johnson2
02-12-2007, 6:45 PM
Not sure if this is considered a "finishing topic"...
I have some Pore-O-Lac oil based filler that I wanted to apply to a table top tomorrow and found that it calls for being thinned with Pore-O-Lac reducer as opposed to Naptha or Mineral Spirits. As I'd have to order the reducer mail order can any tell me if I'm okay using either of the 2 later products? Shellac under and over the filler if it matters.

Thanks

Dennis Peacock
02-12-2007, 6:55 PM
Bob,

I have no real experience with that exact product. But what I would do if I were you is to get a little of it out into a plastic container and try thinning it with mineral spirits and see how it "acts". To me, if it's oil based, it should thin ok with mineral spirits.

Bob Johnson2
02-12-2007, 7:08 PM
Bob,

I have no real experience with that exact product. But what I would do if I were you is to get a little of it out into a plastic container and try thinning it with mineral spirits and see how it "acts". To me, if it's oil based, it should thin OK with mineral spirits.
Thanks Dennis, that's what I did on my test coloring pieces and it thinned just fine, I'm just concerned that a couple months it would turn white or some such thing. If I can't find a definitive answer I'll go ahead and use the mineral spirits anyway.

Barbara Roberts
02-12-2007, 10:03 PM
Believe it should be fine.

Rich Engelhardt
02-13-2007, 5:36 AM
Hello Bob,
The MSDS for Pore-O-Pac lists mineral spirits, so it should be ok to use.

Rob Millard
02-13-2007, 7:29 AM
Bob,
Apparently I should read the directions on the can better, because I’ve used both mineral spirits and naphtha to thin Pore-O-Pac, not knowing a proprietary thinner was recommended. While this lack of attention is not a good thing, everything turned out well, and now 7 years later there have been no problems with the filler.
Rob Millard

Jason Roehl
02-13-2007, 7:48 AM