PDA

View Full Version : Best wood for a trout fly box?

Dewayne Reding
02-12-2007, 9:25 AM
I've never built anything this small. What woods are easiest to work with for the intricate joinery of small boxes? Of course I would like it to be attractive, and not be destroyed like oak if it gets damp now and then. I have eliminated pine and oak. How about walnut, cherry and cedar? I have no experience with the exotic foreign hardwoods, other than they feel like they are made of granite.

Royce Meritt
02-12-2007, 9:34 AM
Don't know if this will help you or not. I have made LOTS and LOTS of wood fly boxes. I make mine out of a solid piece of wood. Using a template I rout out the inside of the box for the foam insert. (See attached photo.) Using this method there really is no joinery to be concerned with. Almost any wood will work. A good waterproof finish such as Spar Urethane will protect it well.

Paul Canaris
02-12-2007, 9:40 AM
Teak would be a good wood to use as it is pretty good around moisture. I can only tell you how I approached this when I used to make these, for a local Fly Fishing Shop. I routed them out of a solid block of wood with a template so they were simply a top and bottom joined with hinges. In this way I eliminated the issue of what glue and leakage at the joints. Ideally you want these to float if they are dropped so there is a possibility of retrieval, so I would add a gasket to the opening.
If youre set on doing joinery though, I would use epoxy on the joints, as well as an epoxy finish. Just my two cents.

Dewayne Reding
02-12-2007, 9:41 AM
Thanks Royce. From a functionality standpoint, the solid wood method is probably best. I need/want to practice some joinery though.

Aaron Frank
02-12-2007, 9:56 AM
Royce,

How do you do the jumping fish that is on the front of the fly box? Is it hand carved, laser cut, or something else?