PDA

View Full Version : Face Frame Questions

Steve Milito
02-12-2007, 8:01 AM
I'm building wall cabinets that will span 19'. Most of the cabinets are a bit over 36" in width, and 30" tall. The span is broken by two tall cabinets, so the longest 'run' is 10', and the other is 6'. I want put face frames on them. Should I frame each individual unit, or build two really big face frames?
What is the best way of attaching the frames (I'm a beginner).
Steve

Kelly C. Hanna
02-12-2007, 8:33 AM
I always stick build my frames, but most cabinetmakers build them then attach to the carcass. Most of them like pocket holes for building and just glue to attach [no nail holes]. I just glue and shoot with 18 guage brads one piece at a time.

Jim Becker
02-12-2007, 9:12 AM
If your workspace allows you to "dry install" your cabinets, at least in reasonably large sections, I'd go with the larger face frames, but leave final installation until the carcases are in place. My FF construction is via pocket screws, but I use a few biscuits for help in alignment and just use glue and clamps to fasten them once the cabinets are in place and leveled. (Be sure to leave extra material on the ends for scribing....)

But if you feel you can't handle large face frames, there is no harm in building them onto each sub-unit. Plenty of cabinetry gets installed that way.

Anthony Anderson
02-12-2007, 9:13 AM
Steve, something that you may want to consider when planning for the longest run of 10', if you intend to use one strip of wood for the top and bottom rails, is that you will need to make sure that you can a good straight piece of wood in a 10' length (after planing and squaring). If not, build the face frames separately for each cabinet and then attach.

As far as the method to build them, as Kelly suggested, use a pocket hole jig. They will go together extremely fast and easy. I have the Kreg K3 sytem, and it works great.