PDA

View Full Version : Esta vs Byrd for Jointer & Planer

Grant Stevens
02-08-2007, 10:35 PM
I've spent many hours searching this forum, woodweb and others looking for information on cutterhead options for jointers and planers. I still am left unsure about the best option, so I'll throw this out for discussion again...[must stop obsessing about purchases...]

I recently upgraded to a used 8" jet jointer and a used 15" jet planer. I am a hobbyist, so I don't change blades often enough to be proficient at it. Plus I have been using the Dewalt 735 so I have never actually had to set planer blades. Therefore, I am looking into disposable blades or an indexed cutterhead to avoid this. Here's the summary of what I found in my searches...

Tersa/Terminus appear to be quite expensive as far as I can tell. Esta appears more reasonable, but I see mixed reviews on how precisely the knife setting is. Byrd cutterhead is pricey, and there are mixed reviews of the performance (although most appear happy).

In my case, I don't do a lot of highly figured wood. I am not sure that I should spend the money for the Byrd given that some have indicated surfaces less perfect than they expected. (I will spend the money if that is the "right" answer - better to spend it once than twice...) That makes my lean towards Esta, but I see some reports that individuals cannot really slap in the knives and get great alignment. To make it more complicated, the long-term cost is harder to gauge given the replacement knives. I would like to hear from Esta users how truly plug and play the knife changing is...

I have no experience with either of these options. Any recommendations out there, other than what I have seen in my searches? Or should I be looking at another option?

Thanks,
Grant

Jim Becker
02-08-2007, 10:44 PM