PDA

View Full Version : Sanity on the way out

Jason Solodow
02-08-2007, 9:00 PM
Well, I'm a woodworker-holic and after having my shop shut down for a year because I was in apartment, I finally got it set back up in my new house! Hallelujah! An oversized garage with more then half dedicated to wood. Sounds great, right? Sure does to me..Downside to this? Had to have surgery on my hand yesterday:( ..I'm off work for six weeks because of it and my LOML won't let me in the shop because she's afraid I'll mess up my arm... I figured I'd do it the easy way and sneak out there while she's at work and have some fun. But nooooo....she took the bags off my DC and told me if she finds dust/chips anywhere I'll be dead meat. Is everyone's spouse this mean? Or does mine just like picking on me?

She's really taking good care of me, I'm just going stir crazy right now. At least she promised to take me shopping at all the woodworking stores here.. Now, if she'll just let me spend some money...:(

Nancy Laird
02-08-2007, 9:02 PM
She's just watching out for your best interests, Jason! If you behave yourself, she will probably let you spend some money, but you have to be good!

Nancy

Gary Herrmann
02-08-2007, 9:19 PM
I can see my wife doing the exact same thing. Maybe go buy yourself a cad program and use the downtime to learn it. Then you can teach me, since I keep telling myself I'm going to do that.

Jeff Heil
02-08-2007, 9:38 PM
Spend some time with your waterstones or sharpening system of choice. No chips, no evidence and sharper chisels and planes. We all are guilty of not spending enough time sharpening because we can't wait to build stuff.

I understand your pain, I spent time re-reading back issues of WW mags and marking future ideas when I was off work with a bulged disc. Oh, and I am happily married and understand your situation with mission control, i mean the best thing that ever happened to you :)

David G Baker
02-08-2007, 11:33 PM