PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone turned...

Tim Brooks
02-08-2007, 9:03 AM
A pen like this?

http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/cgi-bin/shopper?preadd=action&key=050-4142

First let me say, I have only turned a total of 10 pens or so. I am very new to the vortex.

I realize a pen like this is for the avid pen collector but is there really a market for something like this or is this something you would only give as a gift? Even then, I would imagine if one gave it as a gift, the recipient would have no idea what they have--I know I would not have had I not seen the write-up and price.

What is your experience with offering pens such as this (for sale or otherwise)?
My mouth hit the ground when I saw the price....:eek: Wow!

Wilbur Pan
02-08-2007, 10:02 AM
To put things in perspective, high end fountain pens can easily go for $200-400, with some commanding prices as high as $1000 or more. For a better idea, take a look at www.fountainpenhospital.com.

Then again, these pens aren't sold at craft fairs, either.

Dario Octaviano
02-08-2007, 10:09 AM
This is the Limited Edition version...you can have them cheaper for $45-$55. There is also a Jr. version which I much prefer.

Yes, a lot of people turn this (more of the non LE). I haven't turned the LE version but have a few of the non LE my self.

Finding the right market (which I haven't yet) is the key. That said, I finance this hobby via my pen sales ;).

Tim Brooks
02-08-2007, 10:18 AM
I realize this is a narrow-minded view but I can't write well enough with any pen to cause me to want to spend $1,000+ on one. It is my guess these pens are never used though.

I just find it unbelievable.

--I am certainly not judging those who do apprecieate these pens and want to buy them. I suppose it is more of a culture shock for me.:D

Dario Octaviano
02-08-2007, 10:23 AM