PDA

View Full Version : Building a Stanley #5 (virtually)

Dominic Greco
02-07-2007, 9:43 PM
A couple of weeks ago I asked a question concerning CAD drawings of hand tools. The reason I wanted CAD drawings was so I could lay out the design for my tool cabinet while I was at work (during lunch of course). The responses I got were not encouraging. And my subsequent searches on the internet did not yield any better results.

I've been working with AutoCad for 20 years, and Solid Modeling for about 5. I'm pretty good at both (after all that time, I'd better be!). So I decided that if I wanted quality drawings, I'd have to make them MYSELF.

The problem is, I tend to go a bit over board with things like these. I once wanted an elevation view of the Enterprise (NCC1701D) for my office at work. That project morphed into a highly detailed CAD drawing that took me almost 2 weeks (at night) to complete! This case is no better. So far I have the body, knob, and attaching hardware for a Stanley #5 drawn in 3D. All the measurements were taken via scales ("rulers" for you non-engineer types), calipers or micrometer. The body is very detailed and features the tapped holes, lofts and draft angles you'd find on the real casting. Once I get all the pieces completed and "assembled", I can generate CAD drawings of any view in seconds.

Now you're going to ask, "Why go through all the trouble of drawing this in 3D?" My reply, "Why not?" No one else seems to be doing this. And some of the parts I make for the #5 can be used (with a bit of modification) when I draw up my #8, #6, #4 and #3 Stanley Planes. (ambitious, eh?) :>)

And besides, using the supplied Rendering program, I can get very realistic images from my 3D models.

Now I ask you, does this put me in the same category as that guy who wrote the first couple paragraphs of "Moby Dick" on a grain of rice?

Zahid Naqvi
02-07-2007, 9:58 PM