PDA

View Full Version : Help a Newbie

Ed Parkyn
02-07-2007, 1:47 PM
Hello All!
Before going to an Epilog distributor for a demonstration, I wonder if anyone could give me pointers, pro and con, that will aid me in making an informed purchase decision. I would also appreciate operating tips with various materials. My background is in metal and wood working with training in CNC machining. I also have a few years experience with several computer graphics programs. The last few years have seen me work exclusively behind a desk and I've decided to get away from that to return to working with my hands again. I thought that starting out part-time with a 12 x 24 table, 20 to 35 watts would be the best. It would also have a very small footprint in my garage so having to re-arrange my other machine positions would not pose a problem at all. Once again your help is greatly appreciated.

Ed

Phyllis Meyer
02-07-2007, 2:40 PM
Hi Ed,

We still consider ourselves a newbie our laser is 10 months old and we have an Epilog Legend 36EXT, 35 watt (bed size is: 36x24). I'm not sure what part of the country you are in but here in Wisconsin our salesman came to OUR HOME and demonstrated. He also asked us to have any items we wanted to laser on such as: wine glass, mirror, wood of all kinds, plus he came with an array of materials to laser on. Definately ask for the demonstration at your home/garage!!!