PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and some questions

Bert Saenen
11-29-2003, 9:07 PM
Hello everybody,

I am 33 years old and I have just started to take up woodwordking—the neander variety—as a hobby. My day job is very much a desk job and rather abstract (research in economics at the university). I wanted to do something creative with my hands and I also love wood as a material. This leads obviously to hand tool woodworking! Also, hand tools appeal to me because it's less noisy, it's better for my health (no dust) and it's less dangerous for my fingers and limbs in general, all in comparison to power tools.

My ambition is to learn to make boxes and chests. In the long term, perhaps some cabinet work also. However, my first projects will be (simple) garden furniture. I have bought the "Garden woodwork in a weekend"-books from Richard Blizzard. These books feature many simple projects for beginners. The purpose is to get some hands-on experience in woodworking. Also, this will gain me some woodworking credibility which I will use to justify expenses on hand tools and to claim more space in the garage...

Where I live, in Belgium, it is difficult to find woodworking classes. So I will have to teach myself through books, videos, the internet and practice. I have already bought/ordered some basic woodworking and box making books but if somebody can recommend me particular titles, please do so!

My toolbox is still rather empty. The only quality tools I posess are a set of 6 Two Cherries bench chisels. There isn't that much you can do with just a set of chisels. What do you think a basic box/chest making toolkit should consist of? I was thinking of a dovetail (rip) saw, tenon (cross cut) saw, a block plane (standard or low angle?) a smoothing plane (#4?) and a sharpening kit. Suggestions are welcome.