PDA

View Full Version : Any Minimax slot mortiser users

Robert LaPlaca
01-31-2007, 5:44 PM
Hi folks,

Let me introduce myself, I am a serious hobbiest woodworker that has been lurking about this site for sometime. I am currently (and for sometime) have been working away on a pair of the Lonnie Bird Secretaries from FWW issues 154-156. I am a really big fan of 18th century furniture.

From my lurking, I see that SMC has a fair number of Minimax combo machine owners. I own a MM FS-41 elite jointer planer combo and have been considering the slot mortiser attachment. Does anyone here own the MM slot mortiser, if so would you mind telling what you like or dislike about it.

Thanks

Jim Becker
01-31-2007, 5:53 PM
Mark Singer uses the mortiser on his FS41 Elite and I had the opportunity to play with it when I visited a few months ago. Wonderful attachment. I'd put one on my FS350, but for this older machine, it mounts on the back and I can't accomodate it in my shop that way. Fortunately, Robert Tarr has one for his FS35...and I know where he lives... ;)

Seriously, I think it's a great addition to the machine.

Mark Singer
01-31-2007, 6:47 PM
Jim did come play....It is terrific and the best thing it is not in the way since it hangs on the back allowing full access to the jointer and planer functions... I have a post of a table I made somewhere on SMC for the machine with stops and clamp holes. It really works well and saves lots of time. Loose tenon joinery allows you to mortise both components and the long grain to long grain side is stronger tan if it were a true M&T joint....IMHO:rolleyes: ,,bottom line ...ITs Great!

Doug Mason
01-31-2007, 7:41 PM