PDA

View Full Version : What do you use to edge plywood

Jay Jolliffe
01-31-2007, 5:51 AM
Has anyone used the Burgess bits to edge plywood. I tried to set it up yesterday & when I center the bit on the plywood to make the cut the edges come out a little rough looking .

Jeffrey Makiel
01-31-2007, 6:59 AM
Jay,
I have no experience with this system mostly because a voice inside my head is telling me about what you are experiencing.

It seems everything must be right on perfect for this system to work. That's awfully hard in my hobby woodshop and with varying thicknesses of plywood these days (even among plywood within the same stack!).

I'm not sure of what the advantages are. If I'm not using edgebanding tape, which is trimmed with a razor like jig, I use solid rectangular stock that was carefully planed to the thickness of the plywood. After butt glued on the edge of the plywood, I can not believe it will ever fall off.

Even if I don't plane the edge banding stock to proper width, I can always use a flush trim bit, in a climb cut fashion, to make things perfectly flush. This way, the varying thickness of plywood is not an issue.

-Jeff :)

Joe Chritz
01-31-2007, 7:08 AM
I do what Jeff does. Either edgebanding or most often solid stock about 1/2" glued in place.

I use a tall fence and flush trim bit to even it out and about 1 minute on the ROS.

I expect the problem you are having, if I follow is the veneer edges are chipping.

If that is the case have you tried scoring a line where it will be to break the fibers? Short of a powerfeed cilmb cut that is the only idea I have.

Good luck

Joe

Kelly C. Hanna
01-31-2007, 7:24 AM
Yep, I tried everything to get them to work...hated the finish on the edges. I sent back the bits and the owner got a refund.

Bummer is the edges of the plywood will lift off the 'edge' if brushed against once the insert is glued in. Really bad idea IMNSHO.

Russ Filtz
01-31-2007, 7:27 AM