PDA

View Full Version : Tips on buying a miter saw?

Hans Loeblich
01-28-2007, 10:02 PM
I am interested in getting a miter saw but I am very new to woodworking, so I hardly even know what I need. I don't think I will be cutting any huge capacities that would merit a sliding one. Right now I mostly just want to be able to cut 2x4s and 4x4s easily and accurately, with decent dust collection.

Can anyone recommend brands/models?

I would like pay right around or less than $200 if possible. I don't mind buying used as long as it still works well. Are there any particular things to look out for if buying used? They have all kinds in the local pawn shops.
I had my eye on a used DW705 for $150, but didn't want to just jump into buying something without doing a little research first.

I don't even understand what a dual bevel is.:o

Darrin Davis
01-28-2007, 10:16 PM
I bought a 12" dewalt miter saw (reconditioned) that works great for about $100. This was through a tool club but I bet you could find one for under $200 and I would't worry about quality if dewalt reconditioned it. If you don't know what a dual bevel is then don't worry about it. You'll probably never use it.

Dan Clark
01-28-2007, 10:24 PM
I have the Bosch SCMS. Great saw. The only issue is the dust collection - it's fair. The Makita is an excellent saw too. Both will cut 4X6's and 2X12's pretty easily.

The older Dewalt's are OK. Avoid the new replacements, especially the DW718.

Dan.

Hans Loeblich
01-29-2007, 12:14 AM
Well, I've been looking at more reviews and models. I am pretty sure at this point that I want a 12" non-sliding miter saw.

Some models in consideration so far:
Makita ls1221
Bosch 3912
Dewalt 705

From the reviews I've seen, the Makita sounds like the most accurate/solid saw of the bunch. I already have a fair number of other makita tools, and have not been disappointed by one yet. Looks like it is going for $265 on amazon. I saw a site that was selling reconditioned ones for $214. Hmm.