PDA

View Full Version : Best woodworking magazine to subscribe to?

Luke McFadden
01-28-2007, 6:52 PM
I'm interested in subscribing to a general woodworking magazine, but I'm not sure which one. I'm new to woodworking, so something on the general side would be nice. I've mainly got hand tools right now, but I would like to get some power tools soon when my budget allows. I'm interested in building shelves, tables, boxes, and the like.

Recommendations and why?

Luke

Pete Brown
01-28-2007, 6:55 PM
"Wood" and "Popular Woodworking" are both good and general. American Woodworker is good too.

Fine Woodworking and Woodwork both tend to be inspiring. My favorite tends to be Fine Woodworking.

There are tons of others, but those are the ones I see around the most.

Pete

Karl Stewart
01-28-2007, 7:05 PM
As a relatively new woodworker myself, I would recommend Shop notes. Good tips and excellent illustrations. mostly dedicated to building your shop. Methods, joinery and usually budget concious with NO advertisements.

You've already made the best move by joining the creek!

Karl

Jim Thiel
01-28-2007, 7:09 PM
As a general woodworking magazine, I think Popular Woodworking is a fine choice. I just reached into the archives (botton drawer of the filing cabinet) and pulled out June 2005. "Build better bookcases" looks like what you are wanting to build. A box with selves.:)

Jim

Larry Anderson
01-28-2007, 7:15 PM
I like WOOD as a general type mag and subscribe to Woodsmith for projects.

Larry

glenn bradley
01-28-2007, 7:16 PM
I've only been at this about 2 years and I still enjoy Shop Notes and Woodsmith. they are put out by the same people and have a common look and feel but do not overlap. They deal with a lot of shop tips, organization, tool tips, etc. They also have projects for the beginner and have a hierloom quality piece now and again. Best part? No ads. Completely subscription supported. Check 'em out on the web.

No association, just like the mags.