PDA

View Full Version : My first cutting board

Ralph Barhorst
01-26-2007, 2:31 PM
Here is a picture of my first cutting board. It is ok, but not great. I obtained some exotic lumber in order to make this board and I am not happy with the constrast. Many of the boards that I have seen on SMC have looked better.

What kind of light colored wood do you experts use to obtain better constrast?

Matt Day
01-26-2007, 2:49 PM
I'm no expert, but I used Ash on my first ones and it contrasted nicely. I like the Curly Maple on yours, more of it would make a better contrast.

Pete Brown
01-26-2007, 2:50 PM
Looks nice.

In my own opinion, I don't like to mix red or purple with brown. So I would have stayed away from purpleheart and would have put maple with cherry (always a safe bet) or maple with some of the other darker woods. I think the main thing that throws it in yours is the birch. Replace the birch with maple and you'll get a good deal of contrast. I'd then put a very dark piece (maybe even ebony, but I have never worked with that) down the middle instead of the purple heart.

It's still a good looking cutting board!

Pete

Mike Goetzke
01-26-2007, 3:05 PM
Just wondering - did you put any finish on it yet. I made a few of these last year (walnut, maple, & cherry) and the contrasting woods didn't show up well until I applied mineral oil.

John Michaels
01-26-2007, 3:58 PM
Nice job on the cutting board. I looks great to me!!

John Hulett
01-26-2007, 3:59 PM
You shouldn't be so hard on yourself. I think it looks good. If nothing else, it was probably a good excercise in execution. Look at it this way; a professional photographer can take thousands of pictures and have only a select few that he or she is happy with. And you are always your own worst critic. I bet you'll be really happy with the next one.