PDA

View Full Version : Toy Chest Lid Solution

Mike Hill
01-24-2007, 3:26 PM
About a week ago I posted pictures of a toy chest out of red oak I had built for our grand twins' first Birthday. I tried several types of closures, but because of the weight of the red oak lid, none would work. After several suggestions from the group I found some gas struts on Rockler's web site. They work perfectly for this application. Here are a few pictures:

Pete Brown
01-24-2007, 4:12 PM
Very nice. They look good too.

Now, about those air holes...

Pete

David G Baker
01-24-2007, 4:24 PM
Very nice. They look good too.

Now, about those air holes...

Pete
Pete,
I agree on the air holes. I worked in the news business for about 30 years and I bet I covered at least 5 stories on children suffocating in ice chests. Chests and boxes are child magnets. That made a firm believer out of me.
David B

Mike Cutler
01-24-2007, 5:44 PM
Those gas struts are nice. They will wear out in time though. Watch for that.
Food for thought, should you ever make another one.
A 'Creeker here made a toychest that had a gap below the lid, on 3 sides( I think it was three sides) that gave enough space for little fingers to have clearance in case the lid fell. It would also provide that airgap solution that others are refering to
On this project, it's a little late I think.
Nice work all around though. It's beautiful.

Gary Keedwell
01-24-2007, 5:59 PM
About a week ago I posted pictures of a toy chest out of red oak I had built for our grand twins' first Birthday. I tried several types of closures, but because of the weight of the red oak lid, none would work. After several suggestions from the group I found some gas struts on Rockler's web site. They work perfectly for this application. Here are a few pictures:

55905Quick question....what is under the screw head? Is that a rubber washer or something similar?

Gary K.

Mike Hill
01-24-2007, 8:07 PM