PDA

View Full Version : Power Sanding

Chris Jenkins
01-23-2007, 11:09 AM
I'm a newbie to turning, thus my cutting technique well - sucks. Naturally I am getting a bit better every time I play around... Though right now I am sanding with old 5" discs from the ROS. I've been reading and watching as much as possible and I see a lot of "power sanding"

Do you need anything special to do this (as I only see the little chuck and not the tool in the pictures)? Or is it just a sanding pad chucked in a cordless drill or air drill?

Chris

Joe Tonich
01-23-2007, 11:24 AM
All I know is this drill is the cats meow.... http://www.cpomilwaukee.com/reconditioned_tools/drills_and_hammer_drills/close_quarter_drills/

You can get em cheaper off the-bay. I use a 2" pad with it.

Daniel Heine
01-23-2007, 11:33 AM
Hello,

Harbor Freight has basically the same drill for 39.99!!

Dan

George Tokarev
01-23-2007, 11:55 AM
I like the Power-Loc system, because I turn a lot of neglected wood, and they're less flexible than the velcro-mounted stuff. Nice resin-over-resin adhesive for long life, and as long as you're sanding with the lathe on, no real problems with digs. I use a flex shaft on a washing machine motor so I can sand as if I were cutting the wood with a supported tool, which I'm actually doing when I support the handpiece on the rest.

For the finals I go to a 3" velcro so the scratches scribe larger and less visible arcs. You can even sand with the lathe stopped with them, but be careful you don't dig or you won't be able to use a shiny finish.

Mark Pruitt
01-23-2007, 1:34 PM
I have the Power-Lock system as well, and have had mixed results with it. It may have been as much my technique as the tool itself; nevertheless, on the recommendation of several Creekers I purchased a Grex pneumatic ROS and have found it to be an outstanding tool.
http://www.packardwoodworks.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=123211&Category_Code=