PDA

View Full Version : New turner here, Help!

Steve Hertzler
11-24-2003, 1:03 AM
I just got my first lathe yesterday, a Jet 1442 and was wondering if there were any web sites with plans and ideas for turning.
Thanks, Steve

Tom Sweeney
11-24-2003, 11:35 AM
You got yourself a real nice 1st lathe. I'm pretty new to turning myself but what I do is just surf the web for inspiration & techniques. There are lots of great turners here. If someone post pics of something you like - ask them how they did it. Also click on their www button, if they have a web site.

Bill Grumbine's site has several helpful wite ups.
http://www.enter.net/~ultradad/

Also I think any of the Richard Raffan books seem to be excellent choices. He also has several videos & you can buy a set of 3 of them for about $30. I keep meaning to go to my local library to see what they have. Personally I prefer watching someone turn than reading about it so the videos work best for me, YMMV.

I think the most important thing you can do is take a lesson from an established turner. I spent the day with Bill Grumbine recently & it has made a huge difference in my turning.

Also the general consensus is to join the AAW & a local turning club - though I admit I've been procastinating on this one, I think it will also be a big benefit. I think most of them have libraries of books & videos that you can borrow.

Mainly just be sure to practice safe practices - but turn on that new lathe & make sawdust. The stuff to turn bowls out of is free for the taking all around. With the series of storms we've had here, over the last few months, I have more wood to turn than time to turn it.

Good Luck & have fun. If you have any specific questions - just ask. There's a great group of folks here that are more than willing to help.

Dennis Peacock
11-24-2003, 12:38 PM
Steve,