PDA

View Full Version : Does this surface look right?

Bob Jones
01-21-2007, 11:04 PM
I am just getting started using 3 old planes that I bought on ebay - a Stanley #5, #4, and a Millers Falls #22 (like a #7 Stanley). I tuned them and used them as described on this website and The HandPlane Book (Hack). My blades are very sharp and I am taking very think shavings.

I am using cherry - building a bed. Is cherry easy to plane?

I love planing, but I was wondering why my Jet jointer gets a cleaner looking surface than my planes...? I guess this is chatter? One one of these pics I planed one surface by hand and then jointed the other 90 deg to it. The machine side looks more uniform....

Also note the plie of practice that I made this weekend - - it is about 6-8 inches deep :)
Any help would be appreciated.

Dan Forman
01-22-2007, 5:59 AM
Bob---The area you show looks like you are planing against the grain, which often leaves that sort of rough surface. Is it rough all the way along the stock, or just in areas. If just certain areas, there could be some grain reversal there. On second look, it appears that roughness of which you speak is only seen of one of the two boards you have joined together. In that case, those two boards likely have grain oriented in opposite directions. If so, you will have to run the plane one way on one side of the joined pair, and the oppoosite direction for the other side. Or you may just want to sand.

The anser to the other question, cherry is generally plane friendly when there is no visible curl.

I'm no expert though, so hopefully someone will come along and offer a second opinion.

Dan

Hans Braul
01-22-2007, 6:37 AM
Bob, ditto what Dan said. I have found cherry difficult to plane when it is wavy (of course, that's the most beautiful part!). It definitely doesn't like being planed against the grain. The key is to use a very tight mouth opening and the highest attack angle you have. The higher the angle, the less tear-out you will get.