PDA

View Full Version : Beginners spokeshave recommendation?

Luke McFadden
01-20-2007, 6:34 PM
I've made many posts here (and always get the help I need!). I'm looking at getting a spokeshave or two for canoe paddle making.

Can anyone recommend any new or used ones? I've looked the used Stanley plane guide, and was looking for something like this.

(and as a question, when are some blades split?)

L

Ken Werner
01-20-2007, 6:38 PM
Hi Luke,
I've shaved some paddles. I like my Record 151, because of the easy blade adjustment. You can find Stanley 151s on eBay pretty often. I've heard bad things about the Kunz. You might want to look at the various high end ones, from LV and LN, but I've no experience with them.
Good luck,
Ken

Ryan Cathey
01-20-2007, 6:46 PM
You should look into the Stanley number 60. I've never used one but the straight and curved blades have got to be useful.

-Ryan C.

Harold Beck
01-20-2007, 10:36 PM
I have both the flat and curved bottom Records. Worked fine once properly tuned and adjusted but that took a while and some learning on my part.

I then took a class and we made a wooden spokeshave from a Lee Valley kit. I loved the adjustment method which gave a positive depth adjustment. Worked so well I bought the kit for the larger size and made that one. They are by far my favorites. The Records haven't been out of the tool box since I made the first wooden one.

It didn't take long, maybe 4 hours other than final shaping and finishing. The posts come off the blade when sharpening and I found that helped the sharpening compared to some other wooden spokeshave blades. I made one with the brass rub strip and one without. I used bubinga for the body and haven't noticed a lot of wear yet on the one without the brass strip.

Good luck with whatever you chose,

HB

Pam Niedermayer
01-21-2007, 4:10 AM